Stop being so cold and say I Love You

Juan Litvin
2 min readMar 5, 2021

Picture millions of dollars. Mansions, cool destinations, adventures. Now, look around. Are you alone? Nope, I didn’t think so.

Life’s about connection. Making friends, laughing, enjoying, caring, and interacting with people.

I went traveling 2 years ago, and although I visited most major cities in Europe, I don’t think I’ve been to more than a dozen landmarks. I didn’t go traveling to see buildings, I went to meet people. I went to get to know as many amazing human beings as I could.

The best moments in life are those when we open up. What’s the most beautiful memory you have with your parents? Or with a friend?

It’s not you watching Netflix. I bet it’s one where you sat down and opened up to each other and shared your feelings. I bet it’s you telling them how much you love them.

Yet, we all hide our feelings. We are born caterpillars. But when we grow up, we get into our emotional cocoons and stay there, alone. Unlike butterflies, most never get out.

We interact with people, but connections are shallow. We are hesitant to show love, and with time, relationships weaken.

The thing is, there’s nothing better than opening up. Nobody regretted telling someone they loved them. But many regretted keeping it to themselves.

Have you told your best friend you love them? Go do that right now. Pull up your phone and send that message.

Leaving the feelings cocoon is uncomfortable, it’s hard. But it’s your choice. You either show love and show you care, or one day you realize you are too old, and you’ve wasted your chance to say I Love You.

I’ve already made up my mind: I want to become a butterfly. Join me, and let’s get out of our cocoons.

--

--

Juan Litvin

A young mind wanting to share his views and give a voice to the empowerment of minorities.